Building a Website

 bookcover    100_5770  100_5830  PIC_2676

Developing a website is an exciting experience (or should be) for writers. Some years ago, Jim Whitescarver and I worked together to build my website WineScoop with an HTML software program. Nearly everyday I sat at a PC in the reference department of the Morris Township & Morristown Public Library and worked on this website. Whenever I had a problem I would call Jim from the library. After the library closed at night, I walked or biked home with the printed pages for review. Today there are more than 500 stories, wine reviews, editorials and photographs from tasting events. Tagline: wine is a good investment, you can always drink it.

An unexpected event took place about two years. Due to the outdated software program, Xanthus could no longer host WineScoop. Fortunately, they found WordPress.com as the new host for this old technology. The problem solving dynamics and support style, however, changed between the two hosting entities. Xanthus and their support team is a phone call away. WordPress communicates through the sites they host.

WordPress is a large company with a large support staff. I can’t tell you the name of a single staffer without going to their website. They come to me with chat session invitations and pop-up messages  “How Can We Help?” I wouldn’t mind it if I weren’t writing a story. It takes years to learn how to write online and I’m still learning.

I miss the days when Jim was a phone call away when I needed help. My lack of programming skills should have been the bane of his existence, but it wasn’t. Jim has the patience of a SAINT. Over time, site work took days which turned into months and ultimately into years. The relationship developed into a friendship which continues on Facebook and other media sites. All this could have been lost but wasn’t because of a one-on-one working relationship from the start.000_0166

When a writer is interrupted with queries from an unfamiliar WordPress team member offering help with YOUR SITE – what comes to mind is GO AWAY! You’re interrupting my train of thought. If I need help with the site, I’ll contact you.

What is the likelihood a WordPress support technician and I will have lunch together or talk about weekend plans to go hiking in the Adirondacks? Without a face-to-face meeting at, say a company picnic the chance is virtually ZERO. Thus, if you’d like to know what I’m writing about it’s simple: food and wine normally (but not today).

DON’T ASK WHAT I’M WRITING

Mark Slouka, a New York Times blogger, wrote an blog-article in 2013 titled “Don’t Ask What I’m Writing”. It’s simple and straightforward. If the person in question needs more I give them a business card with my website name and ask them to pay a visit. We can continue the conversation online.

PIC_2668

Although no reference to website support is mentioned in Slouka’s article, the idea is the same: unhelpful interruptions as the BANE OF EXISTENCE FOR ALL WRITERS. His story begins with “No stage of the writing process – is as fraught for writers as those first few months of uncertainty: that miserable time when we think, believe, know with absolute assurance that we’ve found the key to the novel in our heads, thoughts maybe, probably, definitely not.”

The article concludes with “Writing, I figure, at least any writing worth reading, isn’t done by committee … your vision is your own, for better or worse.” His advice is to trust a few peer reviews and SHUT UP AND WRITE.

What’s your vision? Better still, keep it to yourself and KEEP WRITING!

Darlene Dranda, Publisher

Leave a comment